Why I write

Why do I write?  What inspires me to write?  What points do I want to get across to other people?

First off, I love writing and I try to practice writing as much as I possibly can.  I never had a clear view of what I wanted to do back in high school in terms of a career, but once I realized that writing was one of my strong suits I never let that thought out of my head.  After receiving many compliments about my writing from teachers and even fellow students, I was asked if I would be interested in writing for the school newspaper.  I immediately accepted the offer and began to write small recaps of recent sports games, my first experience with writing for publication purposes.

It is certainly different from where I am now, writing weekly articles for The Loquitur, Cabrini College’s student-run newspaper.  Now, people pay attention to what you have to say and respect your work because of The Loquitur’s prestige and achievements.  In high school, the majority of our 8×11 Xerox-copied newspapers would wind up on the floor in homeroom.  Disappointing?  Absolutely.  But I never saw that as a reason to quit, to say ‘Well, I guess no one wants to read this or cares enough to show it to someone else, so what’s the point?’  Maybe that’s why I have such a strong work ethic now.  Maybe that’s where I get my keen sense of determination.

Then comes one of my favorite things: inspiration.  Really, everything in some way, shape or form inspires me and, thankfully, my mind tells me to write about whatever that said thing is.  There are a number of reasons for this, from articles I read that are written with a large quantity human emotion to people I know in real life or admire because of their talents and personalities.  I would like to think that I am more of a creative writer as opposed to a hard-news writer and I think that this is because I put so much passion into writing.  When I’m not busy writing Loquitur articles or blog posts, I try to spend my time writing short prose pieces or even what I like to call music lyrics, despite the fact that I have absolutely no musical talent in my body!  If you know me, you know how much of my life I dedicate to Circa Survive and a big reason for that is because of their lyrics.  Just as some stories make you cringe or smile, Circa’s lyrics do the same.  They make you question what they truly mean and how they affect your own life.  The beauty of this is that I can relate every single one of their songs to my own life.  Amazing.

On to part III, if you will — what points do I want to get across to people?  Well, I obviously want to stress the importance of writing – chances are you will need to do some kind of writing in your career, unless you are heavily into mathematics and finance.  Nonetheless, it is a form of communication and should be practiced by everyone.  You may not think it is your strong suit, but anyone can improve their writing if they are committed enough.  It only takes practice.  Also, remember that it is writing that enables you to express yourself.

For me personally, I would be thrilled if someday I can write something powerful enough to inspire another person.  I want to write not only because I love doing it but also because I feel that what I say can have an impact on another person’s life.  As much as I would love to have a career in sports journalism, I have always had the dream of writing a book someday.  I have absolutely no clue what it would be about, but I know that I would be satisfied just to see it get published.  So many things I have read in my life have inspired me and given me reassurance and I can only hope that I can write something that gives others comfort.  If I do write a book someday, I’m not going to care how much money it makes or how popular it is.  Those things would be nice, but it would be so much more beneficial to hear someone express gratitude towards me or thank me for what I wrote.  That is what I truly want, to use one of my talents in life to inspire or change another person’s life.

