I finally own an iPhone 4!

intomobile.com

This changes everything. You’ve probably heard that slogan affiliated with the Apple iPhone many times before, but I can now personally testify that it is the truth. Until Sunday afternoon, I had never owned a smartphone and was still toting around my nearly three-year-old Samsung Gravity. It was time for something new, and I had been longing for the day that I could finally call an iPhone my own.

I’ve only owned my iPhone for a few days, but I can’t think of anything bad to say about it. The display looks great and it is extremely easy to navigate through all of the phone’s features and applications. I highly recommend it if you are looking to purchase a smartphone in the near future.

Here are five things that I already love about my new phone:

1. Text messaging: Compared to my old phone, where texts were sorted by incoming and outgoing, the iPhone’s way of keeping track of messages is brilliant. The keyboard is exceptional and makes texting very simple, but the thing I enjoy the most is the way texts are displayed as one continuous conversation. Perfect.

2. Camera: The iPhone 4 has an amazing camera and I will definitely be using it whenever possible. I have not taken that many photos yet, but the fact that I can save them to my phone’s “camera roll” and later upload them to Facebook, Twitter, email, etc. is fantastic. When they say that this is more than just a phone, they aren’t kidding and the power of the iPhone’s camera proves that.

3. Utility applications: Calculators, compasses, flashlights and more. These are not applications only available on the iPhone but they certainly make your life easier. For me, the flashlight app has already been put to good use. Imagine this: you buy an iPhone on a Sunday afternoon and within five hours the power at your house goes out. Did that happen to me this weekend? Yes. Had I already downloaded one of Apple’s flashlight applications? You bet. Coincidence? I think not.

4. Folders: You mean I can download a ton of applications, organize them AND group them into folders? That was the organizational freak inside of me coming out for a second, but folders really make your iPhone less cluttered and more organized. Sports websites in one folder, news apps in another – you can put everything exactly where you want.

5. Internet browsing: Wi-Fi or 3G, I now have a phone with full internet capability and I couldn’t be happier. Surfing the web on my phone has always been on my wish list and, even though it seems common in today’s tech-savvy world of smartphones, I am excited that I can finally do that with my iPhone. Hallelujah!

