Where I want to be

So many people choose to focus on wealth and power in life. I can’t blame those people, but I’ve learned too much in the past two years of my life to side with them. No matter what your major is or what kind of family you come from, you can decide who you want to be, where you want to go and what your limitations are. If you work hard, have the right attitude and stay away from being selfish, you don’t need vast amounts of money and power to live a happy and fruitful life.

Now, I’m not going to say those things can’t help you to be successful, earn recognition and live a better life, but I’d much rather be recognized as a “good-hearted person” more than anything else. It’s not about what you have, but who you are.

I’ve come a long way in my own right. Since graduating high school, I have found a new character and personality, a much happier and positive one. So many things have improved for me since entering college and finding a part-time job. Even though I’m still in a phase of constant change, I am where I want to be.

Nowadays, I look everywhere for signs of what I should do if I need help. I look at quotes and read blogs. I pray and hope that others will assist me if I need something. But,most importantly, I trust in myself and in the values I have adopted over the years.

I have worked hard to do well at a school that allows me to be “hands on” with my major and encourages me to make a difference in the world through social justice. I have worked hard to build friendships and I constantly seek advice from people who truly mean a lot to me. And I have worked hard to find happiness and make it contagious. As Aristotle once said, “Happiness is the meaning and the purpose of life, the whole aim and end of human existence.”

Just the other day, I was browsing through Google+ (my new obsession) and came across a marvelous post by Tom Anderson, the man behind MySpace. Take some time to look at what he wrote and think about how fortunate you are compared to others. The part below really stands out to me:

Seeing what people have been through, and knowing the real joy in their hearts, I can tell you without a doubt that happiness comes from perspective and if you see the world in the right way, you can flourish in any environment.”

Wish I could write more, but Anderson’s post basically sums up how I feel about happiness and life in general. Just remember this: life is good. Don’t stop believing in things and never give up on your hopes and dreams.

You can do anything!

